Published On:February 27 2024
Story Viewed 202 Times

NPCIL: India Plans to Install 18 Additional Nuclear Power Reactors, Totaling 13,800 MWe by 2032

India is set to bolster its nuclear energy capacity with the addition of 18 new nuclear power reactors, aiming to generate a cumulative 13,800 megawatts electric (MWe) of electricity by 2031-32. The announcement was made by the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) following Prime Minister Narendra Modi's inauguration of two domestically constructed 700 MW nuclear power reactors at Kakrapar in Gujarat last week.

Currently, NPCIL operates 24 reactors with a combined capacity of 8,180 MWe.

Prime Minister Modi dedicated units 3 and 4 of the Kakrapar Atomic Power Station (KAPS 3 & 4) to the nation on February 22. Notably, KAPS-4 was synchronized with the western power grid on February 20, two days ahead of PM Modi's visit.

KAPS 3 & 4, both 700 MW Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors (PHWR), are touted as the largest indigenous reactors equipped with advanced safety features comparable to global standards, as highlighted by NPCIL.

"These reactors have been designed, constructed, commissioned, and operated by NPCIL, with the supply of equipment and execution of contracts by Indian industries/companies, reflecting the true spirit of Atmanirbhar Bharat," NPCIL remarked.

Emphasizing the growing significance of nuclear power in electricity generation, Prime Minister Modi expressed pride in India's self-reliance in this advanced technology during his visit to the Kakrapar Atomic Power Station, where he also toured the Control Room.

In addition to the Kakrapar project, India is progressing on multiple fronts in nuclear power development. Notably, four nuclear power plants of 1,000 MWe each are under construction at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu with Russian assistance. Furthermore, four 700 MWe domestic PHWRs are in the pipeline at Rawatbhata (RAPS 7 & 8) in Rajasthan and Gorakhpur (GHAVP 1 & 2) in Haryana.

Additionally, ten 700 MWe PHWRs have been sanctioned for construction at GHAVP 3 & 4 in Gorakhpur, Kaiga Generating Station 5 & 6 near Karwar in Karnataka, Chutka in Madhya Pradesh (CMPAPP 1 & 2), and four power units at Mahi Banswara in Rajasthan (MBRAPP 1, 2, 3 & 4).


OUR OTHER PRODUCTS & SERVICES: Projects Database | Tenders Database | About Us | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Advertise with Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Feedback

This site is best viewed with a resolution of 1024x768 (or higher) and supports Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 (or higher)
Copyright © 2016-2024

Technology Partner - Pairscript Software